RSS Feed

Dark Chocolate Cake with Salted Caramel Swiss Meringue Buttercream

Posted on

I’ve said it before, and more than likely, you’ll read it here again, but just to be clear: I. LOVE. FROSTING.  You know that person at every birthday party who hovers around the cake table with her eye on a corner piece, ever so graciously offering to cut the cake “just to be nice?”  That would be me.  The closer I get to the cake, the more likely I am to snag the corner (Read: BEST) piece.

For the most part, I’m an equal opportunity frosting lover, too.  Tooth-achingly sweet, tangy and cream cheesy, rich and chocolatey, light and fluffy, fruity, buttery, gooey, citrusy…sigh.  I love them all.  (Full disclosure: I even have a place in my heart for “Bettercreme.”)    I scoff at people who scrape the frosting off before gingerly pushing their plate of cake away after only a few delicate bites.  Weaklings!!   I have been known, on more than one occasion, to quietly sidle up to the dessert bar just to scrape my fork along that little edge of frosting left on the cake plate after everyone has been served.  (So wasteful just to leave it there!)

 

BUT.  I have a confession to make.  I don’t really like Swiss Meringue Buttercream.  Sure, it’s the one of the prettiest and fluffiest frostings around.  Cakes covered in Swiss Meringue are often those with the most perfectly clean edges and smooth sides.  And it pipes like an absolute dream.  But the thing is, the flavor is perfect for people who DON’T like frosting…in that it doesn’t have much flavor at all.

It’s always kind of bothered me to be prejudiced against such an innocent and lovely buttercream.  So recently I decided to go ahead throw an entire cup of homemade salted caramel sauce into a batch of Swiss Meringue Buttercream, just to spice things up a bit.  And then I tasted it.  And swooned.  And was reborn…a SMBC hater, no more.  I feel so much better now.

Let me know if you’d like recipes for this one.  It’s a doozy but, SO worth it!

 

 

2 responses »

  1. Stephanie Erwin

    This looks A-MAZ-ING! I would love the recipe for the cake/SMBC! Love your articles!

    Reply
  2. Beautiful cake! I would love the recipe as well!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

